HAWO American Academy Reviews to Make Extra Money at Home

Sharing is caring!

Online English teaching jobs are one of the easiest ways for teachers to make extra money! Teaching English online is more than just a way to get paid to chat in English. This HAWO American Academy review is to help you get a better idea of the curriculum, how to apply, an overview of the job, requirements, and how to get started quickly!

There are several companies hiring for online English teaching jobs. The online teaching industry has exploded over the last few years and is expected to continue to grow. Online teaching pay rates have become competitive and HAWO has a very strong offer of $18 per 45-minute class plus bonuses and incentives. 

When thinking about the best kind of work at home jobs, you have to consider how much time you can invest, your flexibility, and earning potential. I think the biggest benefit of teaching English online with HAWO is the ability to start earning money immediately after you sign your contract. They also offer great flexibility and time commitment. You can schedule your classes around your life instead of trying to fit your life around your work! As a busy stay at home mom, I really love that!

Now on to the HAWO American Academy review, so you can get all the details!

HAWO American Academy Review

What is HAWO?

HAWO is the leader in online group class English education to young Chinese students. HAWO shares
is a partner business to 51Talk, the one-on-one product for learning English online.

HAWO believes students learn best by interacting with their peers and teacher in a fun, interactive, and
engaging (digital) classroom environment. HAWO has teachers, like you, all over the globe using
state-of-the-art technology and teaching materials. HAWO connects students based in China
with certified North American educators who deliver tailored English lessons to K-12 learners across
the country.

What is Group Class?

Group Classes are 45-minute lessons conducted twice a week (by a HAWO teacher). These lessons take
place during peak hours—18:00 to 21:00 Beijing Standard Time. Classes are also taught by a Chinese
teacher once a week. Each class will usually have four students that are grouped together based on age
and English level. Chinese Teacher classes combine three classes for a total of 12 students per lesson.

How long does a Group Class last?

HAWO has two kinds of group classes: Free Trial (FT) and Regular (REG). FT classes are demo lessons
conducted to encourage students to sign up and buy our learning packages. These classes run for 1-2
weeks. Once the students sign up, they go into the REG classes. These classes have the same students
that will attend your session on a fixed schedule that run for 10 weeks to six months.

Position Overview

Classes: 45-minute English language group classes
Pay: Base rate of $18 per 45-minute class, plus bonuses and incentives
Curriculum: U.S. Common Core aligned lesson material, customized for Chinese
students
Timing: Teachers can select a class time from a list of potential assignments (Peak
teaching times are from Monday to Friday, 6:00-9:00 PM Beijing Standard Time) that may
run for 10 weeks, on average
Place: Conveniently teach from your own home – no commute!
Tech: All you’ll need is a computer with the required specs, a strong internet
connection, a webcam, and a noise-cancelling headset
Culture: We provide cultural discussion opportunities every week.

New work description:

• Native English speaker with neutral accent
• BA degree or currently enrolled as an education major in a university
• Experience in teaching or tutoring
• Experience in the U.S. or Canadian education systems
• Teaching license and certificates preferred (CELTA, CertTESOL, DELTA, DipTESOL, state ESL
endorsement, MA TESOL)
• A PC or MAC (manufactured in 2013 and up), a strong internet connection, a webcam, a
noise-cancelling headset, and a quiet place to teach

• Committed to teaching group classes at least 10 hours a week for 10 weeks, including
weekends

Position Details

• Contract type: Independent contractor
• Start date: Immediately
• Contract term: Part-Time (1 year)
• Payment details: Teachers are paid through their choice of PayPal or bank transfer each
month for the previous month’s work

Group Class lessons are during peak hours:

Monday-Sunday times

• EST: 6:00 AM – 9:00 AM
• CST: 5:00 AM – 8:00 AM
• MST: 4:00 AM – 7:00 AM
• PST: 3:00 AM – 6:00 AM
• Hawaii: 1:00 AM – 4:00 AM
Additional Friday & Saturday times
• EST: 9:00 PM – 11:00 PM
• CST: 5 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM
• MST: 7:00 PM – 09:00 PM
• PST: 6:00 PM – 08:00 PM
• Hawaii: 3:00 PM – 05:00 PM

Requirements

• BA degree or currently enrolled as an education major in a university
• Experience in teaching or tutoring
• Experience in the U.S. or Canadian education systems
• Teaching license and certificates preferred (CELTA, CertTESOL, DELTA, DipTESOL, state ESL
endorsement, MA TESOL)
• A PC or MAC (manufactured in 2013 and up), a strong internet connection, a webcam, a
noise-cancelling headset, and a quiet place to teach
• Committed to teaching group classes at least 10 hours a week for 10 weeks, including
weekends

Technical Requirements

For WINDOWS Processor:
• Intel Core i series – i3, i5, i7 with at least 4GB RAM (recommended 8GB)
• AMD – A8 with at least 4GB RAM (recommended 8GB)
• Operating System (OS):
• Windows 7 and up, must be 64bit

For MAC Processor:
• Released 2013 and up – not more than 5 years old from manufacturing/release date
• Intel Core i5
• Intel Core i3 (Only if Mac OS is Sierra)
• with at least 4GB RAM (recommended 8GB)

Operating System (OS):
• El Capitan and up

Online English Teaching Jobs: China

I count online English teaching jobs as one of the top industries for stay at home mom jobs. I think HAWO is a great fit for you if you are interested in teaching group lessons.

HAWO is not as flexible as some other online teaching companies since you have to stick to a schedule for 10 weeks to 6 months. As a teacher, I really like the idea of having a set class for a specific time period. I think that the consistency could increase rapport with students and teacher. However, if you need flexibility on a daily basis, then this might not be the right company for you.

IMPORTANT TIP FOR THE HIRING PROCESS

Remember to immediately schedule your video interview after completing your application. This is the single most important component of the application process. 

A majority of the teacher hiring & support teams are based in China. Sometimes during the interview process candidates may receive emails early in the morning or late at night due to the time difference. These teams are amazing people who put a tremendous value on treating prospective teachers with respect. Some will communicate with nonstandard English (ie: no American or Canadian slang) but are able to answer all questions during the process.
work at home mom ashleigh allman

Hey, I’m Ashleigh!

I am a former teacher turned SAHM. I’ve been working from home for the past 4 years with my 3 boys ages 3, 5, and 7. Now I help moms find smart ways to work at home so you can create a life you love!

FREE Work at Home Workbook

One of the hardest parts of finding a work from home job is knowing where to start. I put together this 26 page guide to help you take action!

Download for FREE Here!

Related Posts...

Reader Interactions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.